To Purge or Not to Purge?

In addition to writing I have many other interests. Reading, knitting, canning and painting come to mind immediately. One thing that all of these hobbies share is the inevitable accumulation of stuff.

I can’t imagine giving any of these things up I love them too much.

Now you might ask why not read only e-books? or why not buy only the yarn you need for the project you’re currently working on?

Well, the answer to those questions are simple and and if you are anything like me you know. One does not simply by the yarn for the project they are working on, and to suggest such a thing is ludicrous.

Books are another problem…in that I love them so much. There are currently over 1000 titles saved on my e-reader, but I also have five book cases brimming with books many of which have been read and re-read. I can’t part with them it would be too much like saying good bye to a lost friend or lover. Nor can I convert solely to e-titles despite the fact that my own books are published electronically there is nothing quite like a tangible book and I will forever sit on the fence for this debate.

So I know that to be successful the time will come where I must be ruthless to make any progress at all. Wish me luck and I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

What can’t you bear to part with?

Leave a Reply

