Character POV

I’ve been toying with the idea of writing something in a different point of view (POV). However when I try I find that 3rd person is so ingrained it’s what comes naturally. I’ve found a number of books I’ve read recently have been 1st person.

I think this can be done well but find that I miss the POV of the male character since most romance novels are written from a female perspective.

There have been times when a book has been re-released in the male voice but I find this feels a bit contrived. Sort of a sure thing for a pay cheque.

Generally when I write I’ll shift point of view between my main characters. This has it’s own set of unique challenges it’s hard to avoid head hopping and at times I find it difficult to write the voice of the opposite sex.

I find myself thinking of the line in As Good As It Gets where the fan asks the writer how he writes women so well and he responds by saying he thinks of a man and takes away all reason. Obviously that’s not true but it gives me a laugh when I’m trying to capture the voice of my male characters.

Do you have a preference when reading or writing? Do you tend to choose 1st or 3rd person?

Leave a Reply

