Time Management

It’s only April but already this year has been a struggle for me. Why? Some would chalk it up to time management. In addition to writing I also have many other interests and it’s been a challenge to give each interest it’s dedicated time, but I try.

People always ask me how do you find time for writing. See like most I live a busy lifestyle. I work a full time job in addition to writing, and I have a multitude of hobbies. (Writing is not a hobby please be mindful of this when speaking to writer.)

This question always stumps me because the truth is I don’t know how I “find” time for writing. Just like I don’t know where my ideas come from. The truth is a lot of the time the ideas are just there.

Of course I go through periods where I don’t write as much or as often as I like, and there are times when I struggle with the logistics of my novels, but for the most part writing is just an extension of my being I equate it to having an third arm it’s always been there and has served me well. If damaged or suddenly gone I would suffer and function differently.

I have to tip my hat to everyone writing or with multiple jobs who are also raising families. I don’t know how they find the super human strength it must take to juggle their schedules.

My big secret….

I make time.

Time isn’t found it’s sacrificed. It’s stolen from other areas like family time or sleep. The real challenge comes in balancing everything. Picture here a plate spinner with several items in the air. That being said the new challenge I’ve given myself is to steal time for myself not because it’s trendy but because it’s necessary. So I’ve vowed to take time for myself even if that feels unproductive or selfish. Wish me luck…

what do you  “steal” time for?

 

Leave a Reply

